Hints and Tips
Pacific Northwest Optimist
To make a submission of a new story please refer it to pacificnorthwestoptimist@gmail.com

Call for more info: 208-989-9360
Double click here to add text.
News From Around the District

Do you have your copy?​  If you have the Winter 2017 edition of "The Optimist", you will find your District Governor and District Leadership Chair co-penned an article selected by the international magazine.

Your Governor, Rick Matkin, has submitted a short essay each month since taking office.  One of those essays, featured on this site under "Messages from the Governor", was entitled "It's the Why." That essay was chosen to appear in the international magazine.

You are encouraged to read the essay in either location, the magazine or on this website.
There is still a good assortment of sizes available for the PNW District Logo/Theme shirt for 2016-2017.  These shirts will be available at your scheduled zone meeting.  The price is $35 USD.  If you would like to ensure you receive one or if you are a special size and want to check availability, you may contact Governor Rick at rick.matkin@hotmail.com.  
Scott Keller from the Portland Northeast Club, got the ball rolling at the Zone 3 meeting in Lebanon when he issued a fund raising challenge.  On behalf of the Portland Northeast Club, Scott made a donation pledge to the scholarship fund for the CCDHH contest for youth.  He challenged any other club to meet that challenge and when the results of the challenge exceeded $1,000 he pledged to throw in another $100 just to keep the ball rolling.  As a result the scholarship balance now stands in excess of $1,400 after all pledges have been submitted.  If your club chooses to get in on the challenge, you may send your check to Sharon Gray, District Secretary/Treasurer or Teresa Wallace, District Chairperson for the CCDHH event for 2016-2017.
Caldwell/Nampa, Idaho  The Caldwell Optimist Club chartered a JOI Club within the Vallivue School District and became a primary sponsor of the school's robotics club, assisting the young students with fundraising.  The Club also takes pride in following the students as the enter into and complete their robotics competition.  Tegan Byerly, the JOI Club Faculty Sponsor, recently announced the team had competed on January 26 and 27 at Idaho State University where one of the Vallivue teams won the tournament and the Excellence Award.

On February 10, the team traveled to Weiser High School for a tournament.  All four teams made it to the semi-finals and one team was able to post a win over the entire tournament.

On February 24, the team traveled to Wood River High School
 to participate in the  state tournament.  Three of Ms. Byerly's
 four teams had qualified to compete at the state tournament. 
 One team won the Design Award and missed qualifying for the
 World Tournament by only one point.
Leadership Needed !!!!!
2017-2018 will once again see rezoning for the Pacific Northwest District.  As a result, additional leaders need to step forward to fill the Lt. Governor positions that will be created by going from four zones in 2016-2017 to seven.  Leaders should be sought to correspond with the newly designated zone structure.  Voting on Lt. Governors is currently scheduled for the afternoon of May 6, 2017.

British Columbia-West                                                        British Columbia-East

Vancouver                                                                            North Okanagan
Vancouver N. S.                                                                   Junior Curling
Victoria                                                                                 Coquitlam
Victoria Eve.                                                                         Chilliwack
Simon Fraser University                                                       Mission

Idaho-East                                                                          Idaho-West

Twin Falls                                                                             Caldwell
Jerome                                                                                 Middleton
Elmore Co.                                                                           Meridian
Mountain Home                                                                    Emmett
Horseshoe Bend                                                                  Nampa
McCall                                                                                  LaGrande,  Oregon

Oregon-South                                                                    Oregon-North

Grants Pass                                                                        Portland N.W.
Roseburg                                                                            Portland Penn
Lebanon                                                                             Hillsboro
Salem                                                                                 Beaverton
Albany                                                                                Gresham
Newport                                                                             Gresham Scouters
​Beaverton                                                                          Vancouver, WA


Tacoma W.
Narrows Glen

​posted for review March 29, 2017


Section 1. Accredited Delegates. The conventional shall be composed of accredited delegates as set forth in the Optimist International Bylaws. To be and accredited delegate and be eligible to vote on convention business, a delegate must: (1) be a member of a Club in good standing; (2) have registered at the convention, (3) have paid the required registration fee, and (4) have produced such credentials to the Credentials Committee or the District Secretary-Treasurer as my be required by the District Board of Directors. prior to or at the time of the initial convention roll call. Such credentials may include prepared and signed proxies in original form. At no time, regardless of membership, may an accredited delegate be permitted to represent by vote more than one Club.

Standard formatting for bylaw amendment is not available on this website.  Therefore, words in yellow are intended to be those omitted as usually indicated by strike-out formatting.  The portion in the very light blue is indicating the words to be added.  Standard bylaw formatting will be made available at the conference for those unable to utilize this format.

posted for 30 day review, March 31, 2017

Postponed for vote until August 11, 2017
Governor-Elect Announces First Members of 2017-28 Team

Pacific Northwest District Governor-Elect Bruce Gilbertson has announced Mary White of Vancouver, Washington will serve as the secretary-treasurer designate.

Additionally, as a result of zone caucuses on May 6 during the third quarter conference the following members of new leadership were announced.

Lt. Governors and their respective zones will be:

Tyler Carr                       British Columbia
Doug Roe                        Idaho-East
Lisa Peterson                 Idaho-West
Monte Akers                   Oregon-North
Peter Suddeth                Oregon-South
Gary Smith                     Washington and Alaska
The Zones listed in this recent release have been amended by action of the Executive Committee and the final listing will be added soon.
Your Pacific Northwest District New Club Building Team is currently putting together an effort to start a new Optimist Club in the city and surrounding area of Spokane, Washington.  If you know someone in that area who has expressed an interest to you, or you would like to be a part of the effort to make this endeavor a reality for our district, please send that information to your Governor, Rick Matkin, or your New Club Building Chairperson, Larry Blackburn.  All of that information is available on the banner bar at Contact Us.